The Team

Project Director
Bradley Marks photoBradley Marks, Ph.D., P.E.
Biosystems & Agricultural Engineering
Food Science & Human Nutrition
Michigan State University
Key Collaborator
Nate Anderson photo
Nathan Anderson, Ph.D.
Institute for Food Safety and Health
Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) / Office of Food Safety
U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Co-Project Directors
Juming Tang photo
Juming Tang, Ph.D.
Regents Professor and Distinguished Chair
Biological Systems Engineering
Washington State University
Jeyam Subbiah photo
Jeyam Subbiah, Ph.D., P.E.
Morrison Distinguished Professor
Biological Systems Engineering
Food Science & Technology
University of Nebraska-Lincoln 
Elizabeth Grasso-Kelley photo
Elizabeth Grasso-Kelley, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Food Science & Human Nutrition
Illinois Institute of Technology / IFSH
Harsha Thippareddi photo
Harshavardhan Thippareddi, Ph.D.
Poultry Science
University of Georgia
Meijun Zhu photo
Meijun Zhu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Food Science
Washington State University

Denis Gray photo
Denis Gray, Ph.D.
Alumni Distinguished Graduate Professor
North Carolina State University

Elliot Ryser photo
Elliot Ryser, Ph.D.
Food Science & Human Nutrition
Michigan State University
Sang Jeong photo
Sanghyup Jeong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Biosystems & Agricultural Engineering   
Michigan State University

Post-docs, Graduate Students, Undergraduate, and Research Staff
To date, this project already involves (in addition to the PD/co-PDs listed above):
  • 10 additional research scientists / staff
  • 11 graduate students
  • 2 post-docs
  • numerous undergraduate research assistants
Further updates to this site will include specific information about these critically important team members, along with opportunities for matching students with internships, permanent placements, and additional research opportunities.

Industry Advisory Group
The project Industry Advisory Group meets periodically (web-based) and annually (in-person) with the project management team, to help guide project tasks, and to prioritize funding allocations for Rapid Response Mini-Projects in years 2-5 of the project.  The Industry Advisory Group members are:
  • Equipment suppliers
    • Brady Carter, Ph.D., Decagon Devices, Inc.
    • TBD, JBT FoodTech
    • Tim Hartter, Wenger
    • Gerhard Knol, Log5
    • Parastoo Yaghmaee, Ph.D., RF Biocidics
  • Ingredient suppliers
    • Tracey Sinclair, Dawn Food Products
    • Edith Wilkin, Leprino Foods
    • Joan Pinkas, McCormick & Co., Inc.
  • End-product processors
    • Lisa Lucore, Ph.D., Shearer's Snack Foods
    • Michele (Evans) Sayles, Ph.D., Diamond Pet Food
    • Matt VanNatter, Kellogg Company
  • Service providers and industry groups
    • Tim Birmingham, Almond Board of California
    • Pablo Alvarez, Ph.D., Novolyze
    • Karina Martino, Ph.D., GMA